Reviews

8.4
Review score

Score Breakdown

Cleanliness
8.5
Comfort
7.9
Property location
8.8
Facilities
7.6
Staff
9.4
Value
8.3

Reviews

    Henk
    nl

    Review score

    7.5
    23 May 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Heidi
    nl

    Review score

    7.1
    22 April 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Christoph
    gb

    Review score

    9.2
    15 April 2018

    A great stay, very welcoming and well located - an excellent base from which to explore NOLA. Book!

    The bedroom window didn’t open, some fresh air would have been nice. Air conditioner was a bit noisy.
    Wonderful welcome by the host Beatriz who was super friendly and went out of her way to accommodate, entertain and connect with us and our three year old especially.
    Tina
    us

    Review score

    10
    11 April 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Regine
    br

    Review score

    7.1
    11 April 2018

    Very friendly B&B with small drawbacks

    We knew it's a historic house with old furniture and decoration and with small rooms and not with the comfort of a hotel. And we accept this. But the bathroom in our room upstairs needs to be refurbished. That would not take away the charme of the historic house. We could hardly take a shower in the bathtub, the curtains are way too long, you step on them and they block the drain, and the shower is way too low. The paint is falling of the walls and there are some holes in the walls, clogged with kleenex. Later that evening we saw why.... not nice. And the smell of the old house is not good.
    The staff is extremely friendly and warm hearted. The complimentary breakfast is good, every day with a little extra like scrambled eggs or crepes with fruits, homemade cake. The location is right in the middle of Garden District, the historic tram is one block away as well as some good restaurants. Perfect!
    Oleksandr
    ua

    Review score

    10
    18 May 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Clarissa
    us

    Review score

    9.6
    16 May 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Alonso
    us

    Review score

    10
    14 May 2018

    Stay was marvelous.

    Nothing, I liked everything.
    The staff were very friendly, hospitable, and helpful with answering questions and making me feel welcome, the location was fantastic, and the place was historic and charming.
    Gregory
    us

    Review score

    9.2
    6 May 2018

    I felt like I was visiting friends

    I'm not a fan of window unit air conditioners (noisy), but I realize this was the only option in an historic building of this nature.
    Friendly proprietors really make you feel at home along with the other guests as you meet and share experiences over breakfast. Incredibly relaxing hospitality in true New Orleans style. The room was comfortable with a small but well designed on-suite bathroom that retained the historic style of the building.
    alexa
    us

    Review score

    10
    3 May 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Jessika
    us

    Review score

    10
    30 April 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Mitch
    us

    Review score

    8.8
    23 April 2018
    Better water pressure to the bathroom sink and available lot parking other than the street would be nice.
    The ambiance of the room, breakfast, having a coffee maker in the room and window you could open to a courtyard was nice.
    Maegan
    us

    Review score

    7.5
    23 April 2018

    Homey alternative to chain hotels.

    The bathroom was very small, especially the shower. Sometimes it was hard to control the temperature of the water. The place is a little worn down. The portrait of Lee in the check in room, while historically accurate was a little off putting.
    Way better than staying at a characterless chain hotel. Located just a block away from St. Charles street and a fair walk from the convention center where we had a conference, Fairchild House was charming. We only were able to take advantage of the breakfast once but it and Beatriz, the owner, was lovely. The bed was comfy and our bedroom spacious.
    Jerry
    us

    Review score

    7.9
    21 April 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Ron
    us

    Review score

    7.9
    18 April 2018
    Our impression of Fairchild House included the fact that the buildings are early 1800's, and in someways have not been more recently updated. The stairs going up to the floor our room was on were rather steep. The window A/C unit was OK. Paint and wall paper could be updated, but the room and spaces were clean, and maintained. The bed was very comfortable. Although lighting was older, it was quite adequate. The breakfast room and breakfast itself were wonderful. The staff were very helpful, attentive, open and friendly. Despite the older status of the facilities we really liked and enjoyed our stay at Fairchild House, and felt it gave us a closer feel for the local community, and New Orleans.
    Eileen
    us

    Review score

    3.8
    10 April 2018

    Great staff, location and rough, dismal digs.

    Staff is really lovely, breakfast great. House is old and rickety and walls paper thin. Kind of dingy and dark, but location is good.
    Staff is really lovely, breakfast great. House is old and rickety and walls paper thin. Kind of dingy and dark, but location is good.
    us

    Review score

    4.2
    8 April 2018

    Moved to another hotel after 1 night

    Way over priced. Hall was smelly. Room very small. No parking. Work was being done on property
    Oonagh
    it

    Review score

    9.2
    6 April 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    dean
    us

    Review score

    8.8
    4 April 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Chris
    us

    Review score

    10
    29 March 2018

    Great place! Would definitely go back!

    Air conditioner was loud as was traffic noise but it’s an old building so was expected.
    Location was great. Breakfast and coffee were wonder. Staff was very friendly and helpful
Loading reviews